Saturday, July 31, 2010

Friday 30 July

Friday 30 July


I got up around 9. I forgot to take my allergy medicine and I woke up sneezing and rubbing my eyes. Pati called me to invite me over for la comida. Then Lili and I went to Soriana and a store where they sell candy so I could pick up something for the Maron family. Then we went to several other errands. She treated me to a paleta de grosella. It smelled like rose and was really sweet. I really liked it. My tongue and lips ended up red! Then I walked to the Maron’s house. Only Pati and Ramon were there. I went with Pati really quick to the school because she had to talk to the gardener or something. Then we went back to the house. We had chicken salad with avocado, rice and beans. Then after we ate I played piano for them and we were just talking. My head started to hurt.We were going to play fronton, which I was not prepared for at all. Nancy and I rode the bikes to the house so I could get tennis shoes. I didn’t want to say that I didn’t want to play but Nancy could tell. Plus my head was really hurting by then. We decided that they would call me later. Then I took a really long nap because I was getting a migraine. In the end they didn’t call me and I felt really bad to opt out. I am not good with that stuff. Sorry Mo and Yo.

Thursday 29 July

Thursday 29 July


So I really didn’t do anything new. I got up, got ready. I wrote down another crazy dream. This one is too complicated. But basically we were being hunted down by orc and we had to hide. It was a mix of all the post apocalyptic stuff I have been reading/ watching lately. It was pretty scary. Anyways. Abuelo left for the dentist and Lili went to her store so Chata and I were here just sitting. So I asked her if she wanted to take a walk. So we walked to La Michoacana and I got a paleta de Camote. It was realy really good. I was surprised. Of course it wasn’t a paleta de coco. I wanted to visit the Maron but I didn’t want to leave Chata by herself. Instead Jennifer drove by when we were walking. Sorry the posts are just getting shorter and shorter, but there really is not much to say.

Thursday, July 29, 2010

Test with random picture

 
Trying out picassa blogger thing.
Posted by Picasa

Wednesday 28 July

Wednesday 28 July


First we went to the bank. Then we went to cinepolis to see what movies were showing. We were going to buy tickets but then abuelo didn’t have his rewards card and he wanted to get points. Then we went to sears to ask about a vacuum because the hose broke. They could not do anything about it because we didn’t have the model number. So then we went to the comercial. We were in the check out line when someone came up behind me and covered my eyes. It was Patti and Jennifer. I was really glad to see them. We shall see when we get together. We really only needed fruit though. So finally we left that and came home. Then abuelo picked up his card and then he and I went back to the movie theater to buy the tickets. We wanted to buy the tickets then because there would be a huge line later on. Then we finally came home and ate. Then I got to talk to Yo, Mo, and Mom, and Luz ☺. So we went to the movies. I treated to the goodies. Abuelo didn’t want but Chata did. She got caramel popcorn. I got caramel popcorn mixed with chile popcorn as suggested by Lili. It was delicious. I will miss that when I go home. They don’t have chile popcorn! So we watched Knight and Day. It was called Encuentro Explosivo. I wasn’t thrilled about what I had seen in the previews. I thought it would be painfully cheesy. It wasn’t as painful as I thought it would be. It was cute. Plus I got to the movies so I was happy. The parking tickets would not work when we tried to pay. You know how you have to pay at the machine before you go to your car. Anyways it wouldn’t work for neither Lili nor abouelo. So we had a fun time trying to figure out what to do. Lili finally found the security office and paid for it directly there. We got home and went to bed.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Tuesday 27 July

Tuesday 27 July


So I have been in Morelia for a week now. It does not feel like it at all. So Yesterday I plucked my eyebrows. After taking benadryl for my allergies I was knocked out. So I had some crazy dreams. Especially after the intense dejavu moment I had at Chucho’s house. I dreamt a lot about eyes and eyebrows. Then I dreamed that I was in Mexico City with all of you. I have already read two books concerning the religion of Islam. So in my dream Monica and I were in sandborns or something and we were all covered in the burka and we knew we shouldn’t be out by ourselves without a male. And all we were doing was buying like a magazine or something. But to buy it we had to fill out our information. And I didn’t was to say where we lived so I made up an excuse that we had just moved and I didn’t remember what number but it was on Moliere. After we filled out everything the clerk gave me the papers back and said to be sure to burn them. He didn’t even give us the magazine. Then we found Mom, Dad, and Yo somewhere else. Mo and I gave Dad the papers really sneakily. Then I had to gloat that I knew enough about Mexico to come up with a place to live that fast. Haha. I was retelling to Dad everything that we did. But all the while I was really scared that there was microphones everywhere (influence from 1984). Strange huh?

So I accidentally slept in. But I got a chance to talk to Yo and Mo which was so awesome! While I was talking to Mo, Chucho came. Apparently they had walked to the cerro. So they walked to the house. Right when we were going to eat. So there was not enough food. El Abuelo went to Doña Cata’s to get some tacos. He got beef, chicharon, and chicharon prensado. He didn’t buy the tortillas though because he had bought some on Sunday, but he didn’t realize that we had eaten them all. So he had to go back. It was really nice spending time as a big family. I had two tacos of chicharon prensado and beans. So then they left and I helped Chata wash the dishes. Then I walked to the Maron’s house. It was beautiful. The sky was blue with only w few clouds and the sun was shining. The cerro looked all different shades of green. Ramon ended up being the only one home. He answered the door, stared at me for a while because he didn’t recognize me, then “MONICA”! No, sorry. Oh TANYA! Haha. We talked for a while and he asked about everybody. I didn’t stay long because it seemed like he was busy, but he promised to tell them I was here. I walked back and then the usual happened.

We ended up watching this old black and white Mexican film about a woman who really admires her grandmother who died years ago. The woman’s husband was having an affair so the woman begs for her grandmother’s help who comes as a fairy godmother kind of. So the grandmother takes the woman’s place to fix everything and to take care of unfinished business. It was actually really good. I enjoyed it. I rained though a lot around 7. Then abuelo woke up and we watched a show called Osos habrientes or something like that. It was about these bear researchers trying to analyze bear attacks. The would have food and hide in a clear box only feet away. It didn’t really make sense because if they wanted to the bears would have ripped through the box to get to the real meat. Anyways. Then during Merienda I was asking los abuelos about their life. It was really interesting. As I am writing this it is raining really really hard and the thunder and lightening is going. Love you all.

Monday 26 July

Monday 26 July


Cleaning day! So I helped dust some, and mop some. It went by really fast with the four of us. Lili needed help picking up some packages so she called Chucho. I decided to go with her to just get out of the house. We got to the warehouse and met Chucho there. He then came back to the house with us to drop off the packages. Chucho then offered for me to go to his house with him. I always love the drive to his house because the view from the mountain is spectacular. We got to the house and found Mickey, Ana, and Luis Fer watching Have you heard about the morgans? With Hugh Grant and Sarah Jessica Parker. It was alright, not my first choice. Then Chucho had to go somewhere for work. They were watching it dubbed so it wasn’t awesome. Then we played sequencia. It was really weird. I had a really strong dejavu moment. I remember distinctly thinking (in my memory) why I was alone in Mexico and that Chucho was not there at the house. Then that really happened. I just remember so vividly that I had a dream like that or something of all of us playing Sequencia. I really like that game. I was on a team with Luis Fer. We won 5 out of 3! He was really happy.

Then they invited Lili who was going to pick me up and I to stay for merienda. He was going to buy bread and I had to tell him that I couldn’t eat. They thought I was crazy when I said I wanted eggs instead. Chucho did not believe me at all about the allergies. He thought it was a hoax. Then he didn’t believe me on Tuesday that I am allergic to trees, pollen, and grass. He thought I just made it up and a Doctor did not tell me that I was allergic. So I still ended up having eggs and they had bread. When we got back I was pretty tired. But my allergies were really bugging me so I took benadryl.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Sunday 25 July

Sunday 25 July


Chata and I were going to go to the church with the nuns because there are less people there. But none of us got up in time. We ended up going to the big church at 1. They had a new choir that was pretty good. But at this moment I cannot tell you what the readings nor the homily was about. El abuelo bought fresh tortillas so for breakfast I made eggs sunnyside up with the yoke still liquidy and then I let the yoke soak into the tortillas. Yum. Then for lunch Chata made tacos. Yum. So that is why I had a lot of tortillas.

Saturday 24 July

Saturday 24 July


Lili and I went to the servicentro (tianguis?). We got some hair things. I got a headband for 4 pesos. I can tell now that it is worth the 4 pesos or maybe its just because I have too much hair because it does not stay on my head very long. I was overall disappointed with the tianguis. They did not have very good stuff and it was not really cheaper like you would think. In fact, Lili found the same thing for cheaper at the mall where you would think it would be more expensive.

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Friday 23 July

Friday 23 July


I got ready and Lili and I went to the mercados. I bought a few bracelets and such. I also bought myself a purple moral like the ones Mo and Yo have. I really like the color. Lili bought more of that peanut with honey and Ate that looks like fruit rollups. We ate half of the Ate by the time we got to the car ☺ We walked around downtown a little. It was a very lovely morning. We got home in time for lunch. El abuelo keeps reminding me about going to the club but I still think it is better if I don’t get a credencial. I took a lovely nap after lunch. I could sleep for days here. We have been playing memory this week. But today we played canasta. It was really intense. One round, the pile had not been taken until there were only a few extra cards left. It was very nerve wrecking! Finally el abuelo got it after I put down a queen. Gosh dang it. We didn’t want to even count the points. He had a canasta of 7s and wilds. And in all he got a canasta of canastas. It was fun though.

Thursday 22 July

Thursday 22 July


I managed to get up at 9. Chata and I walked to Galeria del Zapato and I got a pedicure. It is so nice to have pretty feet again! Volleyball really messed up my feet. Then we walked back. I have just been reading and drawing. The tv is driving me CRAZY though! Gahhh. It wouldn’t bother me as much if I could actually watch what I want to watch. Then they just flick through the channels. You see something you want to watch then they change the channel. They don’t even watch normal shows like 24 or CSI or anything like that because they don’t like getting hooked to a series. And then if they are watching something and the commercials come on, the flicking commences again and then by the time you get back to the thing you were watching the commercials just come on again. Gahhhhhhh!!!! Anyways. We didn’t really do much.

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Mexico Musings

Wednesday 21 July

Wednesday 21 July


I accidentally slept in until 15 to 11:00. I didn’t mean to, I thought I would wake up before but oh well. So I got up and Chata had already made me Oatmeal. I haven’t had oatmeal for months now. So I got ready and then we went to the comercial and such. That laser place at Julio’s where Mom and I went 2 years ago is still open. I was surprised. We came home and ate. Chucho picked me up at 5:30. Anna, Chucho, Luis Fer, Santiago, and I went to the movies to see Karate Kid. I was very surprised at how good it was. I thought it was going to be super cheesy like the first one but it was not at all. I mean of course some parts were cheesy but not painfully so. It flowed quite well. When we were leaving the house to go to the movies Santiago fell face first. He had this huge huge welt smack in the center of his forehead. He said he didn’t cry because he was embarrassed since I was there. He doesn’t remember me at all. So then after the movie, we walked around the new mall, then went home.

Tuesday 20 July

Tuesday 20 July


I got up at 7:50 and packed my last few bits. I decided not to take more clothes because I figured I would not need them. So I got on the bus at 9:30 and made really good time. I got to Morelia around 1:15. We ate exactly at 2:00. Chicken, rice, and beans ☺. Afterwards we went for a walk. We got halfway to the Maron’s house then it started raining. We took cover under the garage of the house next to where Betty’s house used to be and that is always empty. Right now they remodeled it and it is for sale. The rain finally lightened up a bit and we tried to get to the house as quick as possible. Then we changed and dried off. It was very relaxed and we just did the usual. We watched a national geographic program about Teotihuacan. It was very interesting. Then off to bed.

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Monday 19 July

Monday 19 July


So after talking on Skype on Sunday night I got ready for bed and then I tried to sleep but I could not sleep at all because my stomach hurt so bad. Then in the morning I felt like I had a fever so I did not go out with Olga. I was really disappointed but it was better. I had the runs all day so it was better not to risk it. I did not have the energy to do anything so I just watched tv, read, and listened to music and such. I drank some cocacola because Olga said it would help and I only ate a very little bit of rice.

By the way Harry Potter comes out on 19 November. We have to got tickets soon ☺.

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Mexico Musings

Sunday 19 July

Sunday 19 July


Today I was supposed to get up at 7:50 so I could be ready to leave at 9:00. My alarm did not go off. Olga woke me up around 8:55. I frantically got ready in 10 minutes, forgoing a shower (you know how I feel about that). Then Olga told me that Pepe had just gotten in the shower. So no worries. We drove to Coyoacan. We originally checked if there was mass at a Sta. Caterina Church. I was very excited to go there, but there was no mass at 10. We ended up going to that Cathedral in the centro. It was a very pretty church and we got to sit in the second row. When the priest told us to sit down for the readings, he introduced us to the lector, who was about an 8 year old boy. You could only see the top of his head at the ambo. The priest said as much, so encouraging. But what I thought was really good was that there was a man begging for money in the church and at the end of the mass the priest said that if we had seen the man, we should help him out of Christian charity but only outside the church with all the other beggars. I was just glad the priest said something.

Then we went and had breakfast at Sandborns. I had some tacos of carne de puerco. Then we walked around the town. It was really cool because they just set up a tent in the plaza and had live Mexican folk music. People were dancing so it was really happy. Then we walked around the Mercado. I saw the usual stuff. But I didn’t have much change so I didn’t buy anything. We then drove back home. When we walked in the house it smelled a LOT like gas. There was a lot in the house. Someone had left the oven on so it was spreading gas through the house all day. We turned it off and opened all the windows.

Then took a little nap because I was really tired. Then I began writing. As I was writing all of the above it started to rain really hard. I didn’t really notice that the wind was blowing because I was sitting right next to the open window in my room and no rain was coming in so I figured it was coming straight down. It then got really hard and I could hear hail coming closer to the house. Of course we still had all the windows open from earlier. So I went and inspected. It was bad. The wind was blowing all the rain and hail into my face as I was trying to close all the windows. When I opened the door to the service room, the wind actually pushed me back. It was coming down really heavy. Almost as if there was a hurricane in the middle of a landlocked city. So Olga and I went and had to clean up the puddles that were in the apartment. Then I made some couscous and atole while Pepe and Olga talked to Alejandra, Annabelle, and Caroline on skype. I said hi to them too. Then I cleaned the kitchen because Lolita does not come during the weekend. Then I talked to you all. Rosalia and Sergio came right before you called and it turns out that they left the gas on. They left the apartment in the morning, even though Rosalia said she smelled the gas but didn’t know why. So Olga told them that if they wanted water heated up they could use the microwave.

Love you all!!

Saturday 17 July

Saturday 17 July


I got up at 10 which felt lovely. I made myself some eggs with beans and made a sort of quesadilla with it. It was delicious. Olga and Pepe were going to visit some apartments. I decided not to go since Pepe had been in Costa Rica all week I figured they would want some time together. I got to talk to Mom and Dad for 2 hours!! Yay. That was great. I miss you! So I just goofed off for the day. I read, practiced piano, drew and etc. The fun didn’t happen until after nine. Apparently some friends were in town South America. There were two couples, one from Venezuela, and one from Brazil. The husbands are both Petroleum people too. I helped Olga get the appetizers and such out, then I helped serve them. Pepe seems to enjoy showing off my piano skills and 4.0 gpa status to everybody, so I played piano for them. My face was really red. They couldn’t believe that I just played because I enjoy it, not because I want a career in it. It was very flattering. Then we walked around the restaurants in Polanco (probably around 9:30 pm) Jose luis joined us. We ended up going to another Italian restaurant so again I had a salad. This one had a lot of lettuce, with apple pieces and pistachios. It had a raspberry vinigrette. It was very very yummy. I ate all of it. The couple from Brazil had very heavy Portuguese accents so I had to try extra hard to understand. Then they would speak Portañol as Pepe called it. I always understood the gist because all the words are similar to Spanish as well as English. We walked back and got to the apartment around 12:30 am. So then I went to bed.

Friday 16 July

Friday 16 July


So I got up at 5:45 to go to the club with Olga to exercise. The drive was amazing as no one was on the streets at that time at all! We got there before they opened at 6:30. The Club was called Club Mundet. Apparently it is SUPER expensive (try 1,200 DOLLARS every 3 MONTHS!!) They have a very nice campus (you would hope). So Olga likes to warm up before her Zumba class at 7. So we went to the gym and were on the machines for 30 minutes. Then we went to the class which was a LOT of fun. I really enjoyed it (although my legs were already numb from the machines) All it was, was dancing. So I just decided to go for it and that just made it fun. The teacher was Mexican (obviously) so he knew how to pick good music. We just did different kinds of dancing but it was just jumping for about an hour. I really really enjoyed it.

To cool down Olga likes to go back to the machines, so we went back to the gym. I was very tired. We had an appointment to see an apartment at 9:30 and we had to take a shower etc still. Olga decided to stop at the super market for that days comida. That was exercise in its self because Olga walks really fast. I almost had to run to keep up. We finally made it to the house and got ready for the appointment. Polanco has a large Jewish population and the realtor that we met up with was Jewish. I learned that they do not shake hands. He said it was because of religious purposes. You learn something new every day. After we saw the apartments, Olga dropped me off at the apartment because she had to run errands.

Then Rosalia, Sergio, Jose Luis, and I went to the museum of modern art and the museum of Rufino Tamayo. I really liked the museum of modern art. There was one exhibit that was all about environment conservation and it seemed very similar to what Yolanda has been up to lately like with the campito. The we saw a whole exhibit of Helen Escobedo. Some of her work was very similar to that of both Yolanda and Jon Geiger’s work. A lot of geometric shapes and working with the light and shadow. There was one piece that Yolanda had even mentioned to me before. A whole wall was covered with the Styrofoam pieces from electronics. It looked really cool because then all the electronics were on the floor. The other exhibit was famous latin American painters. So I saw Frida Khalo’s Los dos Fridas, some of Diego Rivera, Siquieros, Varo, and such’s work. So that was really cool. I had previously asked Sergio to take a picture of me with my camera when we went to the Castillo and he was very impressed on how good it was, so at the museum he kept wanting to use my camera to take pictures of me (I think he just liked using my camera haha). But some didn’t come out very clear ;).

So then we went to the Tamayo museum. I guess they were redoing different exhibits so only one was open which was kind of like a sampler of all the closed exhibits. I was not impressed. I like art and such but this was just pointless. Maybe with the big name museum, you expect more from it. But they had one Tamayo piece that was a small picture of just a canvas painted with different reds. It looked nice but I didn’t see the purpose. But I guess it was his expression and this is mine.

We made it back to the house and Olga had invited her other sister and their friend to eat with all of us. So we had pechuga with rice. Olga had two different kinds of tostadas: normal and baked fat free. So I ended up sitting next to Sergio when we ate. I asked him to pass me the tostadas and I grabbed one of each kind. He told me to grab more of the fat free ones. I told him no thank you so he put some on my plate. (Previously Rosalia told me that I had lost weight since I have been here then she told me that I needed to buy one of the shape up shoes so that I would lose weight.) I had not mentioned my weight to them at all, ever. So are they trying to tell me something.

I helped Olga serve and then clean everything up, but after when everything was picked up and we were just sitting at the table talking, I half fell asleep. I was having trouble keeping my eyes open because I was really tired after getting up early, exercising, and walking around the museum. Olga noticed my trouble and let me go take a nap. I took a nap and then got ready because I was going out for dinner with Marisa, Alvaro, and Luis. They were late picking me up because traffic was horrible. We ended up going to an Italian restaurant just down the street from the apartment. It was hard for me because pasta sounded so good. I settled for a Mediterranean salad that had green beans, red and green lettuce and hardboiled egg and tuna. It was really good actually.

Marisa says she doesn’t like Quatsawhere-ever-it-is. I guess it is a very very small town. Only people related to petroleum go there. She doesn’t like going to the beach and there is no blockbuster or anything there. So she ends up working everyday of the week to make time go faster. Luis didn’t really say much. They were giving me a hard time about not drinking alcohol and not having a boyfriend. I don’t need alcohol nor a boyfriend to know who I am. They just laughed. Olga and Pepe went out so I had a key to the apartment. I watched a movie (while kind of falling asleep) then went to bed.

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Thursday 15 July

Thursday 15 July


Honestly at this moment, I really don’t remember what I did on Thursday. I put all of the numbers of the apartment into a spread sheet with different columns for different questions we needed to ask. Maintenance, total price, m2 , and such. Then we fussed with trying to print it from my computer. Even with the printer hooked up directly to my computer, I still couldn’t print. After I sent it in an email to Olga, I did a software update and it turns out I just had to install something. After that, we went to 3 different apartments. I liked one that was new. It was on a less chaotic side street, in front of an embassy (I don’t remember which, I think Germany). Oh yeah then Olga and I went to a movie at the art theater. It was called the last station and was about Leo Tolsoy and his wife Sofia, the author of War and Peace. It was just how he inspired this whole movement and so then people were trying to control his life, one guy wanted him to give the rights of his books to the people because that is what the whole point of his ideas were, and then his wife didn’t want to give that up because it would be on what her children would live. It was in English with subtitles. I thought it was really good, of course though it had to have the ubiquitous sex scene that was altogether nasty and unnecessary. But I love going to the movies so I was happy.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Wednesday 14 July

Wednesday 14 July


I got up and was just reading, practicing piano, etc. Then Olga and I went driving all around Polanco, writing down the apartments that are on sale. Since they just bought the house in Puebla they want to buy (not rent) a smaller apartment. They want it as a stopping point in Mexico City and for during the week when Pepe is working. Olga wants one a 3rd of the size of this apartment. I am kind of sad because this apartment is beautiful and if I were her I would not want to move at all but circumstances call for that so what can you do. So we were in the car going through every little street for 3 hours! I tried to be a good secretary but it was hard to write down the numbers legibly when the car is bumping up and down and waving from side to side on the side streets with humongous pot holes. In the end we got 52 apartments written down! That is a lot for such a small area. These are the apartments only for sale, not for rent. Incredible!

After that Olga and I went home with a bit of a crick in our necks for trying to see the numbers. We just sat, drinking agua de Jamaica and talking. It was very enjoyable. We ate, then I read. Jose Luis and his parents returned from the Zoo so they wanted me to play piano for them. We talked for a while, then Rosalia and Sergio left because it started to rain. Jose Luis, Olga and I had merienda. I drank some atole for merienda. I am really starting to love atole. It is so so yummy. I think I will take some packets home with me. Then I went to bed. I think it is better if I don’t sleep in because then I can sleep right away when I go to bed. I try and get up by 9. Love you all.

Oh and I already talked to los abuelos and I am going to go to Morelia the 20-27.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Tuesday 13 July

Tuesday 13 July


So yesterday tried to get up at 6:30 so I could be ready for whatever Olga was going to do, but I accidentally slept in. I got up at 8. I ate eggs for breakfast which was really good. The eggs here just taste different and they are a different color. So I just got ready and got to talk to Monica which was awesome! I miss you all.

Jose Luis (Olga’s nephew) and Rosalia and Sergio (Olga’s sister and her husband) and in Mexico. Jose Luis is also staying in the apartment. So they invited me to go to the Castillo de Chapultepec where Charlota and Maximiliano lived. It was SO luxurious. I found my dream house. There was an exhibit called Zapata en Morelos. That had different paintings and stuff related to Zapata (who I understood was an artist). Then we saw a huge mural by Siquieros (sp?). In the main hall, there was another huge mural called “El niño caido” but I don’t remember who it was by.

My favorite part was looking at the dresses they had on display and looking at the carriages. The very elegant one they used for special occasions was incredible. It’s hard to imagine that someone really did live like that. When you got to go through and see all the rooms in the house you had to be on this patio with black and white checkered marble. I really liked that too.

After Rosalia and Sergio were too tired to do anything else, we tried to make our way back to the way we came. But we got lost and took a short detour. We took a taxi back to the apartment. Then we ate salad (cucumbers and carrots) and Chicken with mushrooms (it was quite good actually) and rice/beans.

Then after cleaning up the kitchen, we went to the Mall in Polanco. It was good. Rosalia and Sergio went immediately to Sandbourns for a coffee while Jose Luis and I walked around for a while. Then after one walk around the mall, we went to sandbourns too. I had a limonada con agua mineral (my favorite drink in Mexico). On our way out, we visited the pet shop and looked at those poor dogs for a while. The cutest were the beagle and bulldog. They looked so small and fuzzy! We went back to the apartment and I read for a little bit and went to bed.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Monday 12 July

Monday 12 July


I got to sleep in!!! It felt glorious. So I got up and showered and got ready then Lolita got me a tamal to eat for breakfast. I spent the rest of the day reading and writing the blog. The computer was being VERY frustrating! I had to load each picture individually. I would click and have to wait like 3-5 minutes for each picture to load. So you all better look at them a lot! ☺ I finished two books: A Thousand Splendid Suns, and one called Godmother (Olga wanted me to read it so I could give my opinion). In the end neither Olga nor I liked the Godmother book. It was very shallow (equitable to Twilight). Not much to report for this day. It felt wonderful to have time for myself. I ended up watching this movie (I didn’t really watch it, I just put it on to have noise). It was cute but I don’t know what it was called. So enjoy what I wrote.

Sunday 11 July

I forgot to put that Olga and I were the only ones at the party rooting for Holland. That made it fun! I felt avidly against Spain. Probably from a recent Spanish incident. Yet Spain won. But what can you do.

Sunday 11 July

Sunday 11 July


So after sleeping on the air mattress I got ready to go to Mass. We went to church in Cholula. It was a very small church painted Orange and Red on the outside and there were the paper streamers on the outside. We went to Mass at 9am so there were not as many people and that was good. The pews and kneelers were a bit uncomfortable however. The kneelers could not be put up and they were placed where you would normally have your feet. So you had to either sit with your legs tucked beneath you or stretched out and then to stand, you had to awkwardly bend your knees so you could fit in the space. And the seat was slanted so if you weren’t paying attention then you would start sliding off the seat but it was good because it made me be attentive.

Then Olga and Pepe bought some bread from the vendor out side the church. It looked and smelled so good. (This may as well be a blog of food). We then went on a hunt for breakfast. We ended up eating outside at a little restaurant under a tent. “A la via” that what it was called. It was SO good. I had a gordita (it seemed more like a guarache because it was kind of spread out like a tortilla “gorda.” But they were fresh fresh fresh. It had beans with onions and a salsa that was spicy but good. You could watch them make the tortilla, put it on the pan, cook it, and serve it. Oh it was gooood. After breakfast we walked to the car and on the way we bought some fruit. We got strawberries, green grapes, and the coolest looking fruit with little spikes ( Olga and I don’t remember what it is called Monica says it is called liche?). It is very good. You take off the spiky skin and inside the meat has a grape-like consistency but it doesn’t taste like grape, it is sweeter. Then you eat the meat, but leave the seed that has a wood texture, kind of like coconut.

Then we went back to the house and Olga and I mopped the entire house, just so that the dust does not accumulate. That took a while but we got it done.

At the party the night before Pepe met a classmate from high school. Pepe and Tonio had not seen each other since their graduation! Tonio apparently is a mutual friend of Luis Efren ( who is the one the party was for) and he went to the university with Earnestina. Anyways, Tonio invited us for lunch on Sunday. So after cleaning, we made our way to their house which was in another part of the state Puebla. We got lost by two- three kilometers but we finally found it. We ate while watching the world cup. Tonio his wife and another couple were there. For botanita (appetizers) there was chicharones (sp?), papitas, and Patita de puerco (it looked like potatoes but was really chewy). For the main meal we had cemitas. The were sandwhiches with ham, cheese, avocado, salsa picante, and whatever else you wanted. There was a bowl full of queso fresco and Oaxaca just sitting there tempting me. But I was strong. I ended up eating just ham with avocado, olive oil, and salsa. It was still very good. For desert they had gelatin made with the fruit from the really cool plant that you can see in the photo album. It was a pinkish orange color that looked very summery. I ended up having a banana with honey. We ate outside so there was SO many bugs. I kind of suffered ☺ but oh well. I survived.

Then we made our way back to Mexico City. It was a very bumpy ride. For a while we went bumper to bumper (I don’t quite know for how long because I just tried to close my eyes). Then we went through some hills so it was very curvy. When it straightened out just a little, the race was on. I was sitting behind Pepe and saw that we were going at 160 kph (approx 100 kph). Ahh! But we finally made it home, maybe with a little queasy stomach and clenched hands haha. Then I just tried to get caught up with the blog. (It takes a lot of time!!) But I will manage.


Monday, July 12, 2010

Saturday 10 July

Saturday 10 July

Earnestina woke me up at around 6am because a day was going to come and do her hair and she treated me to getting my hair done. How could I resist. The lady curled my hair with a straightener. The curls were really big on the ends but at my root my hair was straight. It was really nice of her to let me get my hair done. I forgot to take a picture of myself though (sorry!). Then I went with Efren to the Red Cross. On the way we stopped by Oxxo to get some coffee. I had my cup ready for a vanilla cappuccino for which my mouth was already watering. But then I realized and had to settle for a cup of black coffee.

We got to the Red Cross and Efren showed me around and introduced me to several people. He has set up a school for parents to prevent the suicide of adolescents. I guess Puebla has the highest suicide rate so it really is great that the Red Cross wants to change that. Then we went to the patio where the party would be at 12. They were just working on setting up the tables. I had to just try and stay out of the way. Efren took me to one of the classes for parents. We sat in for a while. It was very interesting. The teacher was a doctor. The class was on what and how pain works in our life.

Then Efren’s assistant picked me up and we went downtown to buy some decorations for the party. She also bought me some candy. She gave me some peanuts like the one I had when we visited the church. We then made it back to the Red Cross.

When we got back, the room was beautiful. They set up tables and chairs for a Mass before the meal. Also they were celebrating Paramedics day, 100 year anniversary, opening of a room dedicated to veterans, and the donation of brand new computers for the nursing school. So we watched them cut the ribbon to the room with computers. Then there was mass. It was beautiful. After going to daily mass I kind of missed it J Jesus is beautiful. I was however very hungry. I had only ate an apple at 8am and I didn’t really eat until 4pm. Olga reminded me to take an apple but I forgot hehe. I had the peanuts but there was not a convenient time to eat a few. But I figured if I fainted it wouldn’t matter because I was surrounded by paramedics. So after the Mass we all went into the auditorium to honor the years everyone gave to help the Red Cross. The ceremony was very touching. I definitely got tears in my eyes. Efren was honored for working for the Red Cross for 41 years!

Then we went back to the patio where an orchestra was playing really exciting classical music. I really liked that part. I took a video so I will see if I can upload it. Then we finally got to EAT. Oh yum. I had beans, rice, and tinga (which I thought was chicken but Olga told me it was probably beef). After the meal, they had a raffle for the paramedics. They had so many gifts, enough that some paramedics got 2-3 gifts. Then they cut the ribbon to a room in honor of the veterans. So then I just had to wait for Efren to go to a party where we were going to meet Olga and Earnestina.

Finally we got to the party and now I can say I have experienced a “Bauzada” Bauza is the family of Pepe’s mom. So these are apparently infamous get togethers. When I got there, everyone was very curious because they were trying to figure out who I was since I was not family. There is was vastly similar to the part with the doñas , just add like 10 men with twice the volume (and a bit tipsy haha). We didn’t end up leaving until after 12. But we got home and I slept in one of the empty rooms on an air mattress. It was kind of strange sleeping in an empty house and an empty room but I was tired so I fell asleep pretty fast.

Mexico Musings

Friday 9 July

July 9

Olga and I got up and got ready. Then Yamel (Earnestina’s daughter and Regina’s mother) picked us up with Regina and we went to breakfast. Again I had huevos a la Mexicana because I knew what they had. The service was kind of slow but we survived. I realize a lot of my habits are going to have to change. Like eating the bread at the table, normally I would so it was hard not to. But we survived. Then Yamel stopped at Oxxo to pick up some candy for Regina.

Then we went to the Bodegas del Molino. We wanted to check the room for the wedding. It was really beautiful. It is a very old building but the main room was very bright with gold and big chandeliers. And I really liked that along the wall there was paintings depicting the apparition of our lady of Guadalupe. I was really enchanted by those. The whole space was very pretty. It is kind of isolated and it is surrounded by green and one side has a river running through it. The cocktail room opens up to a balcony over tons of plants and pretty flowers. The bar is off to the side of the main room and that was cool because it had a lot of mirrors. They showed us the chapel they had there at the bodegas but it was really small and not very pretty. But you had to walk up nice stairs and there was a very pretty statue of the Virgen de Guadalupe at the top in front of the chapel.

We then took a tour of the hotel behind the bodegas. The hotel was nice and very Mexican. But the room they had for the party was not as nice and it was very humid because they had hung fabric from the ceiling. The actual hotel seemed very nice. Olga and I took a tour of the hotel while Yamel and Regina stayed in the lobby, but somehow I ended up carrying Regina’s doll. So I was walking in front of everyone with this pink doll. I got some strange looks. After talking to the manager or whoever it was, we all went to Superama. These allergies make getting pan de dulce no fun. But oh well.

We then went to a different church where Yamel knew the priest. This church was called “El buen Camino” or something like that. I don’t quite remember. It turns out that the priest is Pepe’s cousin. He seemed like a very patient and kind person. We went to ask him if he would be able to say Mass at the old chapel because he is bilingual. But he told us that the parish would not allow him to say Mass anywhere else. And then he went on to say that the Santo Domingo was in bad area, there was no parking, too many people, and thieves. Then he went on to say that the vibes at Bodegas del Molino are very negative. Apparently there was an assassination there like 60 years ago or something and he said that there was bad ghosts there. That was weird because as a Catholic there is no such thing as a ghost right? But I think he just wanted to choose his parish because then he wanted us to see what rooms were around his parish.

We saw the chapel at his church and it was very modern. The styles of the two churched that we saw were just so vastly different. This chapel was dedicated to the Virgen de Guadalupe so there was a very pretty statue of her and Juan Diego. I thought that was a coincidence because the bodegas had the paintings of the apparition.

After that we went to Yamel’s house and ate. I had a really yummy chicken soup with tacos with chile and beans in them. Earnestina ate with us and she had brought crepes of tinga and they looked really delicious but they were made with flour and with cream.

Olga, Earnestina, and I went to Idea a store kind of like Bed, Bath and Beyond. It was very interesting because you would just follow a path through the store to look at the model rooms then it would come to another part where they had the actual products where you could grab them. And it was like that for every room in a house. Olga found some things she was looking for but not all. Then we went to another level to the super Walmart. There she found most of what she was looking for. When we left it was raining really heavy so there was a lot of men with umbrellas looking for tips. I got a bit wet still.

Then we went to Earnestina’s house and I met Efren her husband. He works for the Red Cross and there was going to be a party for the paramedics and 100 year anniversary for the Red Cross in Mexico so he invited me to go with him just to meet new people and a new experience. So we all drove to Olga’s house to pick up our things and we stayed the night at Earnestina’s house. Olga and I shared the guest bedroom. I slept pretty well.

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Mexico Musings

Puebla

What a weekend!

July 8

We got up at 5 am to catch a 7 am bus to Puebla. On the way there I started to freak out that I didn’t have my passport but then Olga reminded me that since it was national I didn’t need it. I just didn’t want to lose it or anything. When we got on the bus Olga and I were irritated that the TV was on loudspeaker really loud with commercial. But eventually it turned off . The bus ride was good. I read and just slept. I decided not to bring my iPod just so I wouldn’t have to worry about it or have it to distract me.

It has been really rainy here. I guess more this year than ever. More north in Mexico it has caused some major damages. So the streets are always flooded.

We got to Puebla and Earnestina (wife of Pepe’s brother Efren) picked us up. We drove to downtown to visit a church that Olga Elena is considering for the wedding. It is called Iglesia de Santo Domingo in the Capia del Rosario (or something like that). It is beautiful! I was utterly speechless when I saw it. It is covered with a gold design. We were there really early so there was barely any people around, then in the plaza of the church an old man was playing the church songs we know with the trumpet. The moment was just beautiful. I couldn’t get a picture of him but it was very peaceful. We walked around downtown and ate breakfast at Vips. I had huevos a la Mexicana with beans and tortillas. It was glorious after not having eaten anything since 5:30. After breakfast we went to the office of the archdiocese in Puebla to get the marriage class approved. The office was in a very pretty patio painted Orange. Then we walked back to the first church’s office to check if they can reserve the chapel. When we left, Olga had an antojito for buñuelos that an old lady was selling. They looked good. Earnestina got peanuts and I did try those. They had honey on them so it was sweet and salty.

Then we went to 3 different furniture stores looking for a bedroom set for Olga’s new house. Finally we found one at the last store. It was a great deal where she got the set and the mattress brought to the house the same day. My feet hurt so so bad after walking all day. We then went to Earnestina’s house and ate. She is taking care of her granddaughter Regina’s dog. It is a 3 month old yellow lab. So so cute but so so annoying! Her name is Kitty. Haha. She just gets underfoot and does not let you walk! Then she bites your ankles and heels (playfully) but she trips you. When we got to the house we found the remnants of the mail in SHREDS and this puppy looking all innocent. Regina is the only granddaughter so she is a bit spoiled ;) Her grandparents built a little room for her in the backyard that has its mini kitchen living room and table. It’s a mini house! You can go on the roof of it where you can slide down two different slides or play in a ball pit. Imagine!

The house is definitely my style, with nooks and crannies. I ate beans and rice with lettuce and chicken. Then we went and picked up Regina who is very cute but very demanding. But she is smart. She is only 3 years old but she acts like a 6 or 7 year old. It was incredible. We then went to the new house and it is so beautiful. We cleaned the bedrooms to get the master bedroom ready for the new furniture. Then we played with Regina. Olga got a glimpse of what her neighbors are like since the twin boys kicked a soccer ball over the fence and broke a tile on the roof. The soccer ball fell and almost wacked Regina in the head. Earnestina and Regina left when it started looking like it was going to rain.

Earnestina told Regina that they needed to leave because it was going to rain and Earnestina does not see well at night and in the rain. Regina responded ‘Estas abuelas viejas que ya no ven de noche. Yo te guillo.’ Haha Earnestina thought that was hilarious and therefore told everybody and anybody so I heard the story several times. Regina is just very smart and muy traviesa.

So Olga and I were just waiting for the people with the furniture to drop the stuff off. The house is completely empty so we just sat on a wide divider reading. The movers were supposed to get there at 5 and they ended up getting there around 8 because of the rain. They moved the bedroom set into the room and then Olga and I looked for something to eat. We couldn’t go because first we didn’t have a car and second because it was raining really heavy. So Olga found a can of Oysters, crackers and totopos. So I had oysters and totopos standing over the sink. It was perfectly fine and the oysters were actually really good.

Olga and I shared the new bed that night. I accidentally woke her up because I could not stop sneezing. I didn’t even notice until she got up to turn off the fan because she thought that was spreading dust. But when in the morning I felt fine. I got to actually sleep in to 9 that day which was wonderful because I really hadn’t had a chance to sleep much.

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

continued

for 30 min because there was an indicator light going off in the plane or something. So I got on the plane next to a grandma sue type american lady who said she really liked my black and white jacket. She said she had something similar to it in the 70s. She was wearing really big gold rings with diamonds on her fingers and she had wiskers on her chin (s). She was nice though :)


So we finally made our descent but then spent like 20 minutes just circling the airport. It felt like a really long time. I got off with the immigration papers that I hoped I filled out right. I got off and as soon as I walked to the baggage claim mine came. I went through immigration which was really really fast (they changed a lot of things. its not in that big white concrete room anymore) so that was lucky and I got out and Olga was there waiting. Apparently there had been really bad rainstorms in the previous hour which was probably why we circled for so long. And then the adventure of trying to get out in the car.

You are not really in Mexico City until you feel for your life in the car. We got lost and it took us about an hour plus some to get to the house. Then we only had a few minutes to eat soup de lentejas (which was really really good) then leave again to check out an apartment. Pepe met us there. The apartment was not very nice. It had crazy dirty carpet in the bedrooms where you could see where the beds were because it was 100 shades lighter. So then we got back and had something more to eat and I went to bed.

The son of a friend of Olga from Venezuela is also staying with them. Apparently he has an internship for something financial. I think his name is Carlos. I really havent talked to him. But he seems nice. He's in his 2nd or 3rd year at school in pennsylvania or something.

Today I got up at 7:00 to be ready for Pepe's brother Miguel to pick us up at 8:00 to go to Toluca. But he ended up not picking us up. Olga and I took a quick walk, that was really nice, to go to get a bracelet. Pepe ended up sending us a Chauffeur (so foreign I had no idea how to spell it) to take us to Toluca. It was the smoothest car ride I probably will ever have in Mexico City, which is funny because Olga said he was going really slow. It took us 1 1/2 hours to get there whereas when Pepe drove on the return trip it took 30 min. Anyways I fell asleep most the way. Miguel's wife is Maru and she decided to go to school and get her degree and masters after she already had her daughter (Elena who gets her degree next year [we met her at Alejandra's wedding]. So we went to the defense of her thesis (which is open to the public) which took 2 1/2 hours. It was on the topic of alcohol abuse by secondary students. It was interesting but it was hard to stay focused to understanding everything and all the technical language. The room was hot and my eyes were drooping a bit. But it was fascinating to see because the president and 4 other people were on the board. After they asked her questions about her presentation they went into deliberation. They took 20 minutes and apparently it normally does not take that long. She achieved what she had wanted and ended up getting 'mencion de honor' (that was a surprise). Olga and I got a ride with Elena and her boyfriend who is tocallo to pepe but they call him Pollo for some reason. (It made me think at first when I heard them call him that.) It was really great to see that this lady really persevered to achieve what she wanted.

Then we went to the restaurant and sat in the "no smoking" area since smoke bothers pepe. I was SO hungry. I had fruit and atole (I think) at 8 in the morning. We didnt end up eating until 4! but I lived. For the soup it was fideo (gluten) or cream of broccoli (milk) so they managed to give me a bowl of rice but for the main meal it was Three cheese chicken or carne con papas. I got the carne con papas. (more on this later. But I think pepe's family thinks I understand barely anything of Spanish because there was a misunderstanding of which one I ordered. [pride hurt]) Anyways the carne was probably beef but I didnt really realize until half way through ( I was hungry!) and I didnt really want to make another issue. Probably the cause of my headache or it could be that I was right by the speaker in which a musician was blasting his music in. They must not have any hearing. oh well.

Tomorrow to Sunday Olga and I are going to Puebla so I wont be able to talk until probably monday. We are going to visit a church for the wedding, do somethings for the house, then go to someone's birthday party which apparently will run from saturday afternoon to sunday morning. We shall see how this goes.


I talked to los abuelos when I got back tonight. Hope you all are doing well. I love you and I will let you know from sunday night to monday.

Arrival

July 6

Ok lets start off at the beginning. I go through security all the while mom and monica seem to be very agitated which made me freak out a little. As it turns out it was perfectly and completely fine. Except that after I sprinted to the bathroom and I unbuttoned my pants, my button fell off. Lucky for me there are two buttons on the pants or else oooopppsies.

The plane ride was fine. I got by the window in row 10 which was great. I sat next to a man who looked like a Bob. I was almost positive that was his name. He shocked me because he was carrying around his laptop, on and half open with out any case, and a USB stick stuck in the side just waving about. Anyways he didnt seem like the talking type so I just put my headphones in my ears (which were awesome they are like earplugs and headphones I didnt hear anything from outside) and took a nap (as much as you can sleep on a plane).

I got to Houston fine. It worked out perfectly because I landed on concourse E and departed from concourse E. I only had to walk down one strip. I ate what monica prepared me which was glorious. I tried to sign on to the internet but it wouldnt even let me on the free wifi. so I just waited, reading. The flight was then delayed